Computers Are A Waste Of Time

 

Technology’s promise to the world was — make our lives easier.  To save us time so we can do the things that we want to do.  Play with our kids.  Go to a ball game.  Read.  Computers were supposed to give us the tools necessary to work faster, so we may indulge in the luxury of time. 

Well — we all know that’s crap.

Now my rant for the day.  All I wanted was to download a digital audio book to my I-Pod.  My local library has an online system where one can download free software and use it to transfer an audio book to your computer or other listening device.  Doesn’t sound too difficult right?

I received my answer three hours later.

The library download software was the easy part.  Took me five minutes to install it.  Took longer to download the actual book, but still a reasonable amount of time.   Then I loaded my trusty I-Tunes software as I hooked up my I-Pod to the computer… 

I noticed my I-Tunes software needed to be ‘upgrated’ to the next version to run the audio book.  The download was 92 megs!  My first attempt failed to install after thirty minutes of waiting. 

Tried again.  Thirty minutes pasted.  Another failure. 

Restared the computer.  This time thirty minutes yielded the result I wanted.  Now to transfer the book…

The book download software tells me I must change the I-Tunes input setting before continuing.  I click the help button that tells me how to do all this.  I get the sucker switched.  Now I can download the book into my I-Pod.

No.  Not enough room.  Seriously?  Not enough room?  It’s an audio book not Halo 3.  So I dump my favorite  songs off my I-Pod just so I could fit this sucker in. 

Still not enough room.  Okay.  So I only download half the book.  Nope.  I try loading the three of ten parts.  Nope.  One part?  Yes I can do that.  The download program starts to activate my I-Pod and loads the book in.

Now an error message.  This device isn’t compatable.  What?  What the f*ck?  The book download software spells out every device that’s compatable.  My I-Pod shuffle was listed.  Swear to God.

To heck with this.  I gave up.  If I had just gone to the library and checked out the stupid book, I could have spent the next three hours actually reading the thing.

Yes.  Computers are a waste of time.

One thought on “Computers Are A Waste Of Time”

  1. haha I definitely understand where you’re coming from on this post. I’ve had to jump through so many hoops before trying to put things on my I-Pod and got so frustrated that I really don’t bother anymore. I think installing updates are the worst part because they only come up when you need something done, so an extra step and extra time is forced on you when you just don’t need it.

    I won’t go so far as to say that computers are a waste of time, but you’re right that sometimes it’s just best to do things the old-fashioned way. Great post.

Leave a Reply

